DHTML Menu By Milonic JavaScript
NADS5 Header

Robert N. Helm, Jr. Travel Scholarship


Ducks Unlimited Canada and Ducks Unlimited, Inc. recently have announced the establishment of the Robert N. Helm, Jr. Travel Scholarship in honor of Robert N. Helm, Jr. (1951 - 2008). This scholarship fund has been established in recognition of Robert's contributions to waterfowl and wetland conservation and management across North America during his 30 year career with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife & Fisheries.

During 2009, there were two scholarships of $750 each available which were to be used to help students attend and present their research at the North American Duck Symposium and Workshop (NADS). In order to qualify for this award, students must have: 1) been enrolled in an accredited MSc or PhD program at a college or university in the United States or Canada; 2) had an oral or poster presentation selected for oral or poster presentation at NADS; 3) conducted research on any aspect of waterfowl or wetlands management / research, with preference given to studies in the Mississippi Flyway.

The Robert N. Helm, Jr. Travel Scholarship Committee was comprised of NADS organizers, DU and Mississippi Flyway Council Technical Section members. The committee reviewed all applicable student applications, which included an extended abstract and CV, and used the following general criteria to select the scholarship recipients:

  1. clarity of presentation, including statement of objective(s);
  2. scientific merit, including uniqueness, hypothesis(es) and prediction(s);
  3. study design and methods;
  4. management applications (if appropriate);
  5. conclusions and suggestions for future work; and
  6. the student's academic and other achievements relative to his or her career stage.
Robert N. Helm, Jr. Travel Scholarship Recipients - 2009:
  • Courtney L. Amundson - University of Minnesota & Matthew R. Pieron - Louisiana State University (co-recipients)
  • Kirsty E. B. Gurney - University of Saskatchewan






 © All material in this site is owned by the individual authors and may not be reproduced in any form without written consent. Questions or comments?
Email the organizing committee.